top of page

Kids First Communities

an Early Childhood Iowa Area

Early Childhood Iowa

Serving Clarke, Decatur, and Wayne Counties

Our Vision:

“Every child, beginning at birth, will be healthy and successful.”

Our Mission:
“We will collaborate as a three-county area to enhance the lives of children 0-5 and their families.”

Early Childhood Iowa Areas enable local citizens to lead collaborative efforts involving education, health, and human services programs on behalf of children, families and other citizens residing in the area. The focus is to improve results for families with young children, ages 0-5 years.

There are 38 Early Childhood Iowa areas statewide representing all 99 counties. Each area has a citizen-led board to support activities to promote collaboration and develop systems in the community for young children and their families.

In their role, ECI area boards develop a comprehensive community plan that includes a data gathered through various assessment processes.  This information assists the community on planning, funding, professional development and overall support of early childhood programming in the community. 

bottom of page